The Four Levels of Biohazards and Biohazard Cleanup in Oregon

The CDC has established a ranking system for biohazards that consists of four categories. Professionals involved in biohazard clean up in Oregon know this system like the backs of their hands and act accordingly when dealing with biohazards. Read on to learn more about these dangers and how they’re categorized.

Biohazard Level 1

Level 1 hazards are those that do not present a serious to human health, animals, or the environment. Although they may cause some sickness or discomfort, they are not considered serious or fatal. They include Escherichia coli and chickenpox.

Biohazard Level 2

The biohazardous agents at this 2nd level tend to cause mild-serious illnesses in humans, such as HIV and salmonella. Transmission occurs through direct contact with people or materials that are infected.

Biohazard Level 3

Level 3 biohazardous materials can cause severe or deadly sicknesses in humans. The illnesses in this category do have cures and include diseases such as malaria, yellow fever, and tuberculosis.

Biohazard Level 4

This level of biohazard is the most deadly. Biological agents with this designation will most likely always cause severe sicknesses in humans and will often lead to death. Unlike the other categories of biohazards, there is no treatment for illnesses caused by this level of biohazard. Many of the diseases in this category are hemorrhagic sicknesses and lead to uncontrolled bleeding in their victims, which augments the contamination factor. They include Ebola and Lassa fever virus.

Contact Biohazard Cleanup Oregon today for a thorough biohazard cleanup in Oregon at

Be the first to like.

Pin It on Pinterest